The National Innovation and Start-up Policy 2019 for students and faculty in Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) was launched by Hon’ble Minister of Education, Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ on 11th September 2019 at AICTE, New Delhi.

This policy intends to guide HEIs in promoting student-driven innovations & start-ups and to engage the students and faculty in innovation and start-up activities on campus. The policy aims at enabling HEIs to build, streamline and strengthen the innovation and entrepreneurial ecosystem on campus and will be instrumental in leveraging the potential of students’ creative problem-solving and entrepreneurial mindset and promoting a strong intra and inter- institutional partnerships with ecosystem enablers and different stakeholders at regional, national and international level. The policy is being implemented by MoE’s Innovation Cell and in coordination with AICTE, UGC, state / UT governments and universities. The present policy is a way forward to the earlier version of AICTE’s Start-up Policy which was launched in the year 2016 to complement the Star-tup Action Plan under the start-up India and stand-up India Program launched by the Hon’ble Prime Minster of India.


  • Empower and inspire students to become passionate innovators and entrepreneurs.


  • To create a nurturing ecosystem for enabling continuous upskilling among students.
  • Test and validate innovative prototypes by leveraging the various professional industrial/ research tie ups.
  • Enabling students to earn while they learn.

External Members
  • Dr. G. Karuppusami, Dean, Research and Innovations, Sri Eswar College of Engineering, Coimbatore – 641 202.
  • Mr. N. R. R. Vijayakumar, A Serial Entrepreneur and Co-founder, Founder Passion,, The Start-up Accelerator, Coimbatore.
  • Mr. S. Jagannathan, General Manager – Learning Delivery, Indian Institute of Hardware Technology, Bangalore.
  • Er. P. N. Senthilkumar, Managing Director, Gayathri Match Industries, Coimbatore – 641 016.
  • Mrs. GowriManikam, Alumna Entrepreneur, Director, ABT Infosystems Pvt Ltd., Coimbatore – 641 018.
Internal Members
S. No Name Designation
1. Dr. Sr. M. Helen President
2. Mrs. J. Folentia Kamal
Dean of Academics
NIRF Coordinator
3. Dr. A. SahayaSudha, Assistant Professor in Mathematics Convenor, Institution Innovation Council (NCW)
4. Dr. N. Krishnaveni, Assistant Professor in Economics Coordinator, Entrepreneur Development Cell
5. Dr. A. SahayaSudha, Assistant Professor in Mathematics Coordinator, NISP
6. Dr. M. Saradha, Assistant Professor in Botany Coordinator, IPR Cell
7. Dr.T.Jyothirmayi Assistant Professor and Head in Geography Member, NISP
8. Dr. K. Mohana, Assistant Professor in Mathematics Member, NISP
9. Dr. J. Jacintha Maria Florence, Assistant Professor in Economics Member, NISP
10. Mrs. J. Johncy Caroline, Assistant Professor in Chemistry Member, NISP
11. Ms. J. Akshaya, Assistant Professor in English Member, NISP
12. Ms. R. Tejasvi, Assistant Professor in English Member, NISP

Policy Government
First Committee Meeting Minutes
Second Committee Meeting Minutes
Third Committee Meeting Minutes
Approval of Innovation and Entrepreneurship Policy
NCW Innovation and Entrepreneurship Policy
Policy Implementation Team Formation with Support of IIC Team Members at the HEI
Awareness Program